2020 SCORE Baja 1000 Longest and Toughest Ever

The Longest Baja 1000

SCORE International has created the longest Baja 1000 looped race course in its history. For the upcoming 2020 event in Baja California, Mexico, the official course is a record-breaking 898.4 miles long.

The BFGoodrich Tires 53rd SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts, will run in a counter-clockwise direction, except for a short two-way section between the Ojos Negros area and the start/finish line, stretching from the Pacific Ocean on the western edge to the Sea of Cortez on the eastern edge of the Baja peninsula.

Rob MacCachren is a fan-favorite with more than 300 off-road race wins under his belt. He will be gunning for the overall win in the 2020 SCORE Baja 1000.

Challenging Racecourse

This year, the iconic Baja 1000 will run south along the Pacific coast for about 220 miles. Then it turns northeast and heads up and over the mountainous spine of Baja for about another 200 miles to the Valle de Trinidad region. From there, it goes eastward to the San Felipe area for a 250 mile loop through some of Baja’s most rugged and treacherous canyons. Finally, it heads northwest for another 220 miles or so across huge dry lake beds, where the Trophy Trucks can run well over 100 mph, and into the mountains again for the final stretch toward the start/finish line just outside Ensenada.

All Sportsman classes, along with Pro classes 7SX, 11, and 9 will run a reduced course of 767.06 miles. For full details on the race course, check out the official SCORE-International 2020 Baja 1000 course map.

Winning Numbers

When it comes to record holders in four-wheeled-vehicle competition (engines), the top three are Ford with 14 overall four-wheel vehicle winners, Chevy is in second place with 10 overall winners, and VW has 12 overall winners. Among four-wheel-vehicle chassis winners, Ford has 18 overall winners, Chenowth has 10 overall winners, and Chevy has 10. In motorcycle competition, Honda leads with 29 overall victories, Husqvarna has 11, Kawasaki has 10, and Yamaha follows with two overall wins.

While many tire manufacturers have been involved in off-road racing, BFGoodrich Tires has been a major player and official tire sponsor in SCORE Baja off-road racing for more than 40 years. BFGoodrich Tires have been on 30 of the overall four-wheel-vehicle winners in the SCORE Baja 1000. That record includes 30 of the last 34 years, along with a record-run of 20 straight from 1986 through 2005.

Bryce Menzies has been on a hot streak in 2020 and has no plans to stop now. Keep your eyes on him during the 53rd SCORE Baja 1000.

Winning Drivers

The 2020 SCORE Baja 1000 begins in the early hours of Friday morning, November 20th. Motorcycles are the first competitors off the line. The race ends on Sunday, November 22nd, when the last racers will be finishing the nearly 890-mile course. Some of the most consistent and well-known drivers competing in the 2020 SCORE Baja 1000 are fan favorites such as Trophy Truck competitors Rob MacCachren (with over 300 wins in his off-road racing career), Dan, Luke, and Andy McMillin (driving three different Trophy Trucks), Robby Gordon, Tim Herbst, Alan Ampudia, Bryce Menzies, Cameron Steele, and B.J. Baldwin.