Action packed fifth round of Inland Championship

The fifth round of the 2016 Inland Championship took place at the Zwartkops Raceway this past weekend with an action packed day proving to be one of the best events of the year.The first race for the INEX Legends Championship was red flagged on the opening lap after a turn one incident. Keagan Wessels (Pro) took the lead at the restart of the race with Divan Myburgh (Pro) and Jordan Larsson (Semi-Pro) in tow.

Inland big boss

Larsson took second when Myburgh dropped back with a misfire allowing Seef Fourie (Pro) to slot into third as well. Fourie moved up to second a lap later and then proceeded to take the lead on the last lap to snatch victory from Wessels and Larsson.

Fourie grabbed an early lead in the second race and never looked back. A close battle behind him saw Divan taking second place ahead of his cousin Llewellyn Myburgh (Pro). Overall fourth placed Anro Stadler took the win in the Semi-Pro class while a mad dash for the line saw Masters winner Justin Robertson cross the line in 7th just behind Keagan Wessels and Clinton Bezuidenhout (Young Lion) and 0.017 of a second in front of Jordan Larsson.

The third and final race proved to be a cracker. The drama started on the opening lap when a three car pileup coming out of turn two brought out the red flag. Divan Myburgh took the lead at the restart with Clinton Bezuidenhout (Young Lion) and Fourie hot on his heels. Fourie moved up two places to take the lead on lap seven when Divan retired with engine problems. Wessels slotted into second with Justin Robertson (Master) getting the better of the rest of the pack to claim third.

Pole man George Economides (Golf 1) took the lead at the start of the first Yokohama Modified Production Cars race with Jeff Langeveldt (Honda CRX) and Brendan Hall (Honda CRX) hot on his heels. Dirk Lawrence (Honda Ballade) and Adrian Dalton (VW Golf 1 Turbo) tried to stay with the leading trio but were slightly off pace. Economides held on for a narrow Overall victory ahead of class A winner Hall with Langeveldt third. Fifth placed Dalton took class B with Morne Fullard (VW Golf 2) taking class C. Mario Nardini (Nardini SP) took the SRA win.

The second race would be a repeat of the first with Economides taking the Overall victory ahead of class A winner Hall and third placed Langeveldt. Dalton took the double in class B with Kenny Darroch (VW Golf 1) turning the tables on Fullard to take class C. James Alexander (Nardini SP) had an excellent drive to take the SRA class honours.

The Midvaal Historics / Trofeo Challenge series produced some close and exciting racing with the biggest field on the day. Martin Botha (Datsun GX) took the lead in the first race with Brendan Parker (Datsun GX Coupe) and Jackie Morrison (Ford Escort) in tow. Botha romped home to victory to claim the Overall and Class E victory. Fourth placed Reghard van Zyl (Alfa Alfetta GT) took class X with sixth placed Mossie Mostert (Datsun) taking class F. Eleventh placed Peder Jensen (Datsun) took the class G win with Johan Swanepoel (Fiat 124 Coupe) taking class H. Ninth placed John Hendriks (Alfa Sud) took the Trofeo class win.

The second race saw Botha take his second Overall and class E win of the day ahead of Parker. Fifth placed Joe Soares (Ford Escort) took class F with seventh placed van Zyl taking class X once again. Jensen took the double in class G with Eugene Gouws (Fiat 124 Sport) taking class H. Eighth placed Hendriks held on for the double in the Trofeo category.

Poleman Devin Robertson (Chev Corvette) took the lead of the first Big Boss Auto Super Saloons race and never looked back. Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang) slotted into second with Mackie Adlem (Jaguar) glued to his rear bumper. Adlem dived up the inside of Morgenrood on lap three to grab second place through turn eight. Robertson went on to claim an easy Overall and GTA class win with fifth placed Willie Hepburn taking the GT2 honours. Jody Viana (Mazda RX8) claimed the GT3 win with Karel Stols (Mazda RX7) and Amos Cockerham Senior (Peugeot 206 Spaceframe) doing the same in classes GT4 and GT5 respectively.

Robertson was out to prove a point in the second race and promptly took the lead once again. Adlem slotted into second place with Morgenrood in tow. Robertson went on to take his second Overall and GTA class win in a row. Ninth placed JP Breedt (Nissan 300ZX) took the GT2 honours with Viana taking the double in GT3 despite a persistent misfire. Adrian Dalton (VW Golf 1) took GT4 this time around with Cockerham Senior taking the double in GT5.

Pole man Louis van der Merwe (Formula GTI) grabbed an early lead ahead of Didier Diedericks (Formula M) and Leon Scholtz (Formula Vee) in the Formula Monoposto race. Diedericks inherited the lead on lap three when van der Merwe crossed the line with a gearbox full of nothing forcing him into early retirement. Diedericks romped home to the Overall, Formula M and class B victory, with Carel van Heerden (Formula GTI) taking second Overall and first place in class D. Third placed John Maurien (Formula GTI) took the class C honours with seventh placed Gary Eveleigh (Formula M) taking class A. Steven Levin (Formula Vee) took the class E laurels.

After starting from the back of the grid for race two a repaired van der Merwe came back strong to clinch the Overall and class B victory ahead of Formula M winner Diedericks. Sean Harrington (Formula GTI) took the class C honours with van Heerden and Levin taking the double in classes D and E respectively.

Due to various technical issues the first Bridgestone BMW Car Club series was declared null and void with the second race counting for double points. Julian Fameliaris (E36 328i Turbo) took the lead ahead of his cousin Dino Fameliaris (E36 M3 Turbo) and Desmond Bloem (E36 M3 Turbo). Riaan Woest (E46 M3 GTR) grabbed third place when Bloem retired to the pits with mechanical gremlins on lap 5. Julian romped home to a comfortable Overall and class A victory while third placed Woest took the class B honours. Sixth placed Lorenzo Gaultieri (E36 328i) took the class C win with Alan Hilligenn (E36 328i) taking class D. Mike Dodd (E36 318is) took the lone class E win.

Hennie Swanepoel (Kawasaki ZX10) took the overall and Class B win for the Silverton Bolt & Nut Challenge Classes B-E. Werner Strohm (Kawasaki ZX10) took an easy victory in class C and Wendy Cook (Kawasaki ZX6) stood victorious in the Ladies class. The Masters class was won by Iain Pinkerton (Suzuki GSXR). Class A went to Joe Herbig (MV Agusta Brutale). In the Sub10 Superbikes we had Rob Morf (Kawasaki ZX6) taking the overall class A victory and Clifford Ogle (Ducati Panigali) in class B. The fastest Master on the day was Adam van Tonder (BMW HP4).

George Economides (VW Golf) also took the overall and class A victory in the Silver Cup Racing Series. The class B win went to Riaan Draper (Spaceframe Fiesta) and class C was taken by David Louw (Spaceframe Ford Fiesta). Class D was won by Danie Deysel (Honda CRX).

The next round for the Inland Championship will be on the 13th of August at Red Star Raceway outside Delmas in Mpumalanga.