Racing with a difference thrills PE

Port Elizabeth race fans were treated to a entertaining day of visiting Northern Regions Extreme Festival racing at Aldo Scribante on Saturday. A varied and exotic entry list delivered thrills across eight unique classes, from thundering V8s to wailing supercars, tin-tops, single seaters and even a few motorcycles.
Veteran Larry Wilford (Mustang) endured a frantic first Mobil 1 V8 Supercar race to win from championship leader Mackie Adlem (Jaguar), young gun Julian Fameliars (Corvette), Izak Spies (Lumina) and Antonie Marx (Jaguar) after title contenders Terry Wilford (Falcon) and Franco di Matteo (Jaguar) were delayed, split by Auke Compaan (Jaguar) and Steve Herbst (Jaguar). Di Matteo struck back to take race 2 with Adlem a safe second to consolidate his title advantage as he held Terry Wilford off, with dad Larry next from Fameliars, David Coetzee (Falcon), Antonie Marx (Jaguar), Compaan and Herbst.
Vereeniging lad Charl Arangies (McLaren) took the opening G&H Transport Extreme Supercar win from Cape Town’s Marcel Angel (Ferrari) and Dino Scribante (Porsche) after the flying Franco Scribante’s Porsche developed turbo boost issues. Paulo Loureiro (BMW) was fifth from Gianni Giannoccaro (Lamborghini), BMW duo Rick Loureiro and Elwyn Steenkamp, Xlolile Mdolo (McLaren) and Jimmy Giannoccaro (Lamborghini). Angel then passed and held Franco Scribante off for the second race win ahead of Arangies who won overall, Dino Scribante, Gianni Giannoccaro, Rick and Paul Loureiro, Steenkamp and Mdolo.
Polo drivers, Rory Atkinson held Bevin Masters, Lyle Ramsay, JP van der Walt, Derick Smalberger and Simon Need off to win the opening Motor Mart Volkswagen Challenge race, while Stiaan Kriel took Class B honours and Dawie van der Merwe won Class C. Atkinson then did the double from Masters, van der Walt, Ramsay, Mo Dangor and Smalberger, while Jacques Smith took Class B and van der Merwe did the Class C double.
Tyler Scott drove his Opel Kadett to the opening Car Care Clinic SuperHatch win from Honda Civic trio Jonathan du Toit, Brett Garland and Louis Scholtz, while Shane Forget (Opel) took Class B from Nic Martin (Peugeot), Andre De Lange (Fiesta) took Class C and Nolan Fleetwood (Passat) took Class D. Du Toit took race 2 from Scott, Garland and Class B winner Wouter Roos (Polo), Andre Dannhauser took Class C and Fleetwood D, with the same top three and C and D winners in the final, but Martin beat Forget in Class B.
Regular PE visitor George Economides (BMW) took the opening Car Care Clinic 111 Sports & Saloons win from Wouter Roos (Golf), Harry Arangies, (350Z) Kalyn Miller (Kia), Phillip Meyer (Porsche) and Kevin Miller (Focus). Arangies then beat Economides, Kalyn Miller, Meyer, Kevin Miller and Wayne Masters (Polo) in race 2 and Arangies also took the final from Masters, Kalyn, a penalised Economides and Andre de Lange (Audi). Louis Scholtz (Civic) took Class B, Gerhard Oosthuysen (BMW) Class X and Mark Gregory (Golf) won Class E in all three races.
In single seater action, Jaco Schriks beat Richard Carrto in a close opening Hankook Formula Vee race with Lushen Ramchander third from Brandon Hills, Lendl Jansen, Peter Hills, Gert van den Berg and Byron Mitchell, before Brandon Hills took race 2 from Schriks, van den Berg, Peter Hills and Carr. Ian Thomas (Kawasaki) won both Bridgestone Challenge motorcycle races from Zaidy Williams (Kawasaki), Itumeleng Morakile (Honda), Keith Botha (Kawasaki) and Pelo Seate (Honda).