All Change For Red Bull GRC As The Series Returns To The Capital

Red Bull Global Rallycross returns to Washington DC this weekend with a host of changes in place.Gone is last year’s 0.440 course, replaced with a course more than double in length. At 0.980 miles this year’s DC track, situated in Lot 8 at the RFK Stadium, is one of the longest in Red Bull GRC history. The dirt jump will also make a return, having last been seen at round four at MCAS New River.


The Supercars field will see two drivers making their first starts of the season. Pat Moro will return in his privately-run Chevrolet Sonic, having took part in X Games Austin earlier this year.

Former Indy Lights race-winner Logan Gomez will be making his first ever Red Bull GRC start driving for Bryan Herta Rally Sport. He will be behind the wheel of the Olsbergs-built car that Austin Dyne campaigned last season.

Jeff Ward will also be returning for Ganassi alongside full-time runner Steve Arpin.

Meanwhile Subaru will be absent from this round but will make a four-car return to the championship in Los Angeles next month.

2014 DC Supercars winner Patrik Sandell will be looking to repeat last year’s success after finally taking his first win of the season last time out in Detroit.

The Swede has often been the quickest driver in the field but has been hit by bad luck on more than one occasion so far.

Event sponsor Volkswagen will also be looking for a pair of good results from Tanner Foust and Scott Speed. Despite wins at Daytona and X Games, the Andretti-run squad has had a tough season so far but Speed’s brace of second places in Detroit could signal a turning point for the Indianapolis-based team.

After impressing on his debut at Daytona, Jeff Ward will no doubt be hoping that longer and faster layout for this season’s visit to Washington DC will work in his favour. DC is so far Ward’s last scheduled appearance this year although the motorsport icon has been in talks to make another appearance in LA and is looking at running full time next season.

All eyes however will be on Ken Block. Despite being taken out of contention by a penalty in the second Detroit race, the ‘Head Hoonigan’ has won half of this season’s championship rounds so far and he’ll certainly be a force to be reckoned with in the US capital.

In GRC Lites, Rhys Millen Racing will be running a single entry for series debutant Blas Zapag. The Paraguayan takes the place of former Google employee Harry Cheung.

Olsbergs will be running a third entry alongside their championship challengers for RX Lites driver Joachim Hvaal.