Andy Yan secures inaugural TCR China series title with win in Guangdong

Hong Kong driver Andy Yan has won the first TCR China series drivers’ title following victory in the first sprint race at the Guangdong International Circuit in his NewFaster Team Audi RS 3 LMS.

Andy Yan

The former CTCC champion led from start to finish in the Audi, winning the race by just under seven seconds ahead of Teamwork Motorsport’s Sunny Wong, who had overtaken Yan’s team-mate Huang Chu Han on the opening lap in his Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR.

Wong’s team-mate Alex Hui drove through the field after failing to set a lap in qualifying, taking the final spot on the podium after passing Huang’s Audi on lap 12.

Huang’s outside bet at a title was over after finishing in fourth, 30 seconds behind the race winner.

Wang Hoa was the last driver on the lead lap in his Volkswagen Golf, while Gu Xiao Gang finished the race a lap down.

Only seven cars are entered for the TCR China series finale this weekend, but only six cars made the finish of Race 1, with Deng Bao Wei retiring in his Leo109 Racing Audi RS 3.

The second race of the weekend is scheduled for 9:15 CST on Saturday, with the one-hour endurance race at 13:05 CST.