Bridgestone BMW Track and Race Day and Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series Round 6 – Phakisa Freeway


While the Bridgestone Time Trial Series invites all makes of car and all levels of drivers to try their hand at the best possible lap time it is a requirement that drivers are holders of an MSA circuit license and vehicles are track worthy. The Time Trials are subdivided in three timed categories and a session lasts for 15 minutes. To take advantage of the Hot Laps it is required that passengers wear long pants and long sleeve shirts. Spectator entry is completely free for the day and people are welcome in the pits where they can meet the race drivers and sign up for the Hot Laps. Food and refreshments will also be on sale throughout the day. BMW Car Club Gauteng regalia will also be on sale.

Marthinus Visser

In Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series heading up the Class A battle will be Rick Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i) nad Stefano Martinelli (Dalucon Insulated Panels BMW E90 335i). Top contenders in Class B is expected to be Andreas Meier (BMW E36 SAT Car), Jan Eversteyn (Bavaria 0.0% BMW E46 M3) and Oz Biagioni (Bio Pool Maintenance BMW E46 M3).

The Class C battle is expected to be a furious one between Troy Cochran (Arrow Automotive BMW E36 M3), Renier Smith (BMW E36 M3), Shane Grobler (Mayfair Gearbox BMW E36 330i), Shaun Lamprecht (Wildthings BMW E36 318is Turbo), Neil Reynolds (Valve Hospital BMW E36 M3) and Jimmy Tsimenoglou (Big Boss Auto/SA Safe BMW E36 M3).

The Class D grid will see the renowned “Brat Pack” class leader Alan Hilligenn  (BMW E36 328i) having to defend against the likes of Matthew Wadeley (P&G Digital BMW E36 M3), Klippies Krige (BMW E36 M3) and Bernard De Gouveia (De Gouveia Accountants BMW E36 328i). Class E will be headed up by Nicholas Van Zyl (Mike’s Auto Tune BMW E87 130i) and Rupert Giessing (Bridgestone BMW E46 325i Touring).

The Bridgestone Time Trial Series will see entries from Leon Loubser (BMW E92 335i), Fabio Fedetto (BMW F82 M4 GTS), Arri Van Heerden (BMW E30 2.7), Marthinus Visser (BMW F22 M240i), Claudio Jardim (Porsche 924) and Cwade Rees (Porsche 718 GTS).

Stefano Martinelli

Along with the Super Saloon Cars (SSC), the Modified Production Cars (MPC) makes up the MOTUL Clubmans Championship. The championship is also a performance-indexed based championship that allows all competitors to contest for the title across numerous classes. After five rounds, the championship is still a close affair. Heading up their on-track battles is expected to be Marius Jacobs (AAA Recovery Centre Nissan Tigra), Bjorn Gebert (Alfa Romeo GTV6) and current championship leader Duane Brown (Turbo Charged Ford Fiesta).

Report and Event Photographs: