Brilliant Zone 7 national MX action

A perfect late summer’s Cape Town Saturday greeted the second round 2019 TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship to the sandy, rutted and tortuous Zone 7 over the weekend where local fans were treated to racing of the highest order. 

There were many incredible performances but none quite as thrilling as the final race of the day when Maddy Malan, who had ridden his Q4 Fuels Husqvarna to a dominant opening premier 450cc MX1 moto win, first dropped his machine to let Lloyd Vercueil sneak ahead on his Summit Yamaha. Malan was however soon back in the lead, only to be slowed by a flat tyre to leave Vercueil to take the second win and take the day.

Lance Vercueil

The punctured Malan however rode a heroic race as he held Tristan Purdon (KTM) off to take second and equal Vercueil on points and retain the title leader’s red plate into the next round in Bloemfontein in May. Purdon, Royce Griffin (RPG KTM), David Goosen (Tintswalo Yamaha) and Ash Thixton (KTM) closed off the MX1 top six for the day.

It was a far simpler affair in MX2 as Anthony Raynard stamped authority on the quarter-litre class aboard his Tintswalo Yamaha, ahead of Kerim Fitz-Gerald (Red Bull KTM) and Joshua Mlimi (KTM) in race 1, but Mlimi made local hero Raynard work for the race 2 win ahead of Fitz-Gerald and Adams, while KTM duo Bradley Cox shared out the fifth and sixth places ahead of Ricky Raaff.

Tyson Engelbrecht rode his KTM to the opening over-30s MX3 moto ahead of the similar machine of Wyatt Avis and Ian Topliss’ Yamaha, but it was Avis who led the way on his motocross return in race 2. He was however overcome by another former SA champion in over-40 rider Topliss, who took the second race from Engelbrecht and over-40 rider, Brett Bircher (KTM) after Avis faded. So, Engelbrecht took the day from Topliss, Avis, Bircher and the KTMs of another over-40 man, Craig Kruger and Wade Wright.

Ian Topliss

Kayla Raaff continued her dominance of 2019 SA Ladies Motocross with another two wins on her DForce KTM from the similar bikes of Leah Heygate and Natasha Rugani each time. Jenna Bohling (Husqvarna) and Yanke Pieterse (Yamaha) shared out the fourth places ahead of Tiegan Reed on another KTM.

In the schoolboy classes, Dalton Venter dominated the opening 125cc High School race aboard his Husqvana ahead of KTM trio, Ugandan rider Aviv Orland, Jonathan Mlimi and Christiaan Cilliers (Yamaha) in the first moto, but Mlimi made them all work in race 2 before slipping behind Venter, Orland and Arnu Saaiman (KTM) as the race wore on. Venter duly took the day from Orland, Cilliers, Calvin Jean-Jacques (Yamaha) and Saaiman.

Uganda’s Stav Orland (KTM) was unstoppable in the big wheel 85cc Pro races, leaving Zimbabwe’s Daiyaan Manuel and Swaziland rider Blake Young (KTM) to share out the seconds and thirds. Zimbabwean lad Emmanuel Bako was similarly unbeaten in the 85cc Juniors as Seth Young (KTM) followed him home in both small wheel races ahead of Deegan Bloomfield and Joshua Fletcher (Yamaha).

Niel van der Vyver (Q4 Fuels Husqvarna) continued his domination of the primary school 65cc class, completely dominating the opening race, before working a little to beat Jordan van Wyk (Husqvarna) in moto 2. Van Wyk did not finish the opening race, leaving Liam Botha to second overall on his EHR Husqvarna ahead of moto 1 second placed lad Damon Garrell (KTM).

Ethan Williamson took a first race win and second in race 2 to power his Husqvarna to baby 50cc honours for the day, ahead of KTM duo Keenan Strauss, who was second in moto 2 and Jake van Schoor and Chase Bekker (Husqvarna). Christian Berrington-Smith, whose KTM did not finish the opening heat, bounced back to take the second race win.

All in all, Zone 7 delivered a great day’s 2019 South African National Motocross Championship racing delivered by TRP Distributors in association with Dragon Energy, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Motul, Pro-Taper, Fly Racing, 100%, Ogio Luggage, Racestar Graffix and the Race Shop. SA Motocross now takes a break over the Easter period before returning for the third round of the series in Bloemfontein Saturday 25 May.