Contracted SA National Rally Championship continues in Delmas

The contracted Covid-19 SA National Rally Championship  continues in Delmas tomorrow when rounds three and four, the Toyota NTT Delmas Rallies, will be held. Round three that starts at NTT Toyota in Delmas tomorrow morning has attracted seventeen entries of which only fifteen will compete in the national championship series.

Round four, that will be held on Saturday has attracted 21 entries of which four will only compete in the regional rally championship.

Both events will be contested over six special stages, two more than what was the cade with the first two rounds. On Friday the special stage distance will be 94.66km and on Saturday the special stage distance will be 88.44km.

Altogether six competitors have entered the new NRC1 class, five for NRC 2, two for the Rally Cup (NRC 3) and one each for NRC 4 and 5.

The current SA Driver’s and Navigator’s champions, Guy Botterill, are entered in the 4WD 1600 turbo Toyota Etios. They won the first two rounds earlier this year. Wilro Dippenaa rfrom Namibia and Carolyn Swan, are entered in a 2.) Toyota Auris.

Chris Coertse and Greg Godrich will be seen in a Hyundia i20 and Johann and Natasha Fourie in a 2.0 Toyota Delica GT4.

The Rally Cup will once again feature the two rookies, Benjamin Habig and Jayden Els in VW Polo Cup entries. They have a win each from the previous two rounds.

Another NRC1 entry to watch out for is Johann Strauss and Elzaan Venter in a Subaru FTI, while the runner up on the first two rounds, Theuns Joubert will be in action in his S2000 Toyota Yaris.

The two rallies are being organised by the SCC East Rand and the Clerk of the Course is William Louw.

The contracted championship Covid19 series consists of six events. The final two rounds, the Trac4 Rallies  and , will be held on 27 and 28 November in Dullstroom.