Dakar 2020, Stage 10: Barreda tops shortened day

Honda rider Joan Barreda led Ricky Brabec in Stage 10 of the Dakar Rally, which was shortened due to weather conditions.The route from Haradh to Shubaytah was going to be 534 kilometres, but the competitive part of the stage ended at 345km due to strong wind, and the rest of the stage was neutralised.

As a result, Barreda was gifted the stage win, the Spaniard fastest at every waypoint of the day.

Barreda became the seventh different stage winner in the bike class and the fourth for Honda, although he had been provisionally classified as the victor on Stage 7 before Kevin Benavides was subsequently awarded the win.

The Japanese brand also took a big step towards the overall title as Brabec was a close second in the stage and added close to another five minutes to his lead, as Husqvarna rider Pablo Quintanilla finished only seventh.

Behind Barreda and Brabec, Kevin Benavides completed a Honda 1-2-3 in the stage, followed by KTM trio Price, Luciano Benavides and Matthias Walkner.

Price remains KTM’s best hope to continue the manufacturer’s title run it started in 2001, but the reigning champion is 28m33s behind with two days remaining.

Wisniewski tops quads, drama for Casale

Polish rider Kamil Wisniewski topped the quad category which also ended prematurely, but not before leader Ignacio Casale lost significant time.

Casale lost 44m59s between the 174km and 223km checkpoints and ended the stage 17th out of 19 competitors.

The Chilean had a dominant lead of 44m57s coming into the stage but he was able to keep 16m18s of that advantage, as Simon Vitse also struggled and lost over 16 minutes.

In the stage, Wisniewski was followed by Czech rider Zdenek Tuma and fellow Pole Rafal Sonik, who is back to within an hour of Casale in the general standings as the third-placed rider.

Standings after Stage 10 (Bikes, top 10):

1United States Ricky BrabecHonda34h12m18s
2Chile Pablo QuintanillaHusqvarna25m44s
3Spain Joan BarredaHonda27m09s
4Australia Toby PriceKTM28m33s
5Chile Jose Ignacio CornejoHonda41m31s
6Austria Matthias WalknerKTM41m32s
7Argentina Luciano BenavidesKTM44m18s
8United States Skyler HowesHusqvarna1h43m21s
9Argentina Franco CaimiYamaha1h43m57s
10Slovakia Stefan SvitkoKTM2h02m10s

Source: News Break ( Story originally published on Motorsport.com)