Down to the wire for Comsol VW Challenge

The Comsol VW Challenge drivers make their way to Zwartkops for the ninth and final round of the 2016 championship on Saturday, 26 November. With the overall and all three class titles still to be decided, hard racing is on the cards.

Rory Atkinson
Rory Atkinson

Darren Nathan (Sextrader Polo) and Nic Clarke (Central Technical Services Polo) are locked in a titanic struggle for the overall and class B victories. Out of the 15 races held this season the pair have shared 14 wins between them, Adrian Wood (Laserfische Polo), who is in third in the class B standings, being the only other driver to stand on the top step of the podium this season.

If history is anything to go by Nathan has a slight advantage. He has won three of the six races at Zwartkops this year compared to Clarke’s two, but Clarke will not let that put him off in his quest for a second successive title. Brad Hall (Hellermann Tyton Racing Polo) and Mile Stewart (RCS Security Services Polo) are separated by just a single point in the battle for fourth with Francois van Zyl (Jesus Saves Polo) a bit further back in sixth.

In class A Waldie Meintjes (LTR / Marty’s Body & Spray Polo) and Rory Atkinson (Comsol Polo) both have 102 points with Tasmin Pepper (Campos Transport / Alpine Motors Polo) 12 points back in third. The class A winner is certain to come from these three although any one of James Hurley Hurley (The Starter Pack Company Polo), Ian Stevenson (Comsol Polo), Devon Piazza Musso (Alliance Polo) and Stiaan Kriel (Polo) could take wins on the day.

Luan Roos (Nathan’s Motorsport Polo) has a 10-point advantage at the top of the class C standings over Graham Savage (Goldwagen JHB CBD and Wynberg Golf). The battle for third in the class C championship is a three-way affair between Shaun Crous (Ancro Building Projects Polo), Wouter Roos (Nathan’s Motorsport Polo) and Elke van Vledder (Golf). They are separated by just six points. Stuart Mack (Goldwagen JHB CBD and Wynberg Golf) is in sixth place ahead of Lyle Ramsay (Monroe Polo) who only re-joined the series at Red Star in August. Since making his return Ramsay has won three of the five points-scoring races and will be looking to end the season on a high.

Practice sessions take place on Friday, 25 November with qualifying and racing happening on Saturday, 26 November. The classes have been split due to the number of entries and class B will have two 10-lap races on their own at 13h25 and 17h05 while classes A and C will run together at 11h30 and 16h20.