Inland Championship MOTORSPORT NEWS

EV Dynamics Inland Tour sees out 2018 on a high note

The curtain came down on the EV Dynamics Inland Championship on Saturday, when it visited Zwartkops Raceway as part of the Historic Tour. The season’s fantastic entertainment was capped by another day of wall to wall racing across the broadest spectrum.
Image result for EV Dynamics Inland Tour motorsport

In the LiquiMoly Inex Legends Willie Erasmus won heat 1 from Gerhard Roux and Sean Moore. Two young chargers were next up, Altan Bouw in fourth place, making a return to the fold with some aplomb, and Young Lion Jagger Robertson in fifth place. Richard Upton completed the top six. In heat  2, Jason Loosemore beat Willie Erasmus to the top step of the podium, with Richard van Heerde in third place.  Justin Robertson, Dane van Heerde and Richard Upton completed the top six. In heat 3, Jason Loosemore was again the winner, ahead of  Erasmus and Justin Robertson. In the overall classification for the season, Justin Robertson was top Master ahead of Gerhard Roux and Richard van Heerde, Steven Levin won the Pro Class with Loosemore second and Richard Upton third, Dane van Heerde took the semi-pro laurels ahead of Chris Hoy , and Jagger Robertson was the Young Lion.

In Motul MPC/Clubmans, veteran Willie Hepburn driving his Opel Rekord in Class SS/X took victory in the opening race, finishing ahead of Keegan Pottas (EV Dynamics Honda CRX) who was first in MPC/A. George Economides (Wealth Avenue 96 Golf Turbo) was third across the line. In Class B Ian Ehlers (FEC Polo) claimed the win ahead of Paul van Niekerk ( EV Dynamics Golf) and Dirk Lawrence (JDM Tuning Honda Ballade). Paul Verios (Acrotek/LiquiMoly Golf 5) was the winner in Class C, with Richard Cooley (Cubenco 194 Crane Hire Tata Indica) trailing him. Giles Darroch (EV Dynamics Golf) and Bjorn Gerbert (FAS Alfa GTV 6) were next up. Duane Brown (Brown’s Auto Fiesta) took the win in Class D, while Wayne Pereira (Grange Golf mK1) was unbeatable in Class E. In race 2, Keegan Pottas had the better of Hepburn, reversing the morning’s finishing order. Economides was again third. In Class B a race long scrap saw Ian Ehlers beat Bjorn Gerbert and Roan Ehlers (FEC Golf). Verios was again too good in Class C, with Giles Darroch behind him. Duane Brown took a brace in Class D, and Wayne Pereira did like wise in Class E. Overall class results for the season will now be worked out with dropped scores still to come into effect. Winners will be announced in due course.

The Formula Monoposto races were also pretty competitive affairs, run together with the Historic Formula Fords. In the overall classification, Org Geldenhuys (Abacus Division Racing RM08) was the winner in FMA, with Louis vd Merwe (VW Commercial Witbank Swift) in second place and Karen Geldenhuys (Abacus Division Formula M) third. Koos Posthumus (KMZM Industries Formula M) was the winner in Class B, with Mac Odendaal (CRS Auto Witbank 93 Gti DAW Mk3) taking second place ahead of Hilton Morrow (Chaplins Eye Care 2007 Formula M). John Maurien ( Lifestyle Galaxy VW GTI Ray) beat Jannie Geyser (2007 Rhema II) to the win in Class C. Damien Archer (EDS Four Seasons 2001 Rhema Z) won Class FM/D. Devon Kyle Dickinson (Homefinders Leewmar Formula Vee) claimed the winner’s laurels in Class E finishing ahead of Tony Beecher (1980 Formula Vee) and Blaine de Meillon (1980 S + J Mk8 Vee).

Image result for EV Dynamics Inland Tour motorsport

Last but not least, the Midvaal Historics/Alfa Trofeo Challenge were again out in force and good value for spectators’ money with two thrilling races. In the overall scorecard, In MHCC, Werner Vonk (69 Ford Escort MKi) was the winner in MH/D with Travis Jensen (74 Datsun 1200 GX) second and Deon van Vuuren (69 Mazda R100) third. In Class MH/E Gavin Lundin beat Gregory Gossman. MH/F     belonged to Martin Venter ( Jetta Mk1) who finished ahead of Riaan Roux and Jaco Roux both in VW Sciroccos. A busy class MH/G saw Andries Draper (1968 Ford Escort) take top spot with Henry Vos (1973 Datsun Saloon) second and Brain Fraser/Chris Williams ( 1963 Ford Anglia) third. Imtiaz Salie (1974 Datsun Coupe GX) beat Johan Venter (1979 VW Jetta) in class MH/H. In the Alfa Trofeo Challenge Mario Rossi (FAS Alfa GTV 6) won Class A, with Henry Fourie (1968 Alfa Berlina) beating Jose de Carvalho (1992 Alfa Romeo 155) and Kyle Viljoen/ Philip Hendricks (1974 Alfa Sud) in Class B. Johan Lamprecht took his 1996 Alfa 145 to victory in Class D, with Richard Pott doing likewise in Class F piloting a 1966 Alfa Romeo Giulia. As with Motul MPC, championship winners and losers still have to be decided, after dropped points and nogins which are still to follow. Final results also in due course.