Force India name disappears from F1

In doing so, the new team was renamed Racing Point Force India, and next season will simply be known as Racing Point F1 Team, resulting in the disappearance of the Force India name that first debuted in 2008.

Other team name changes on the entry list see Ferrari being officially named Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow and Haas changing to Rich Energy Haas F1 Team as a result of sponsorship deals.

Lando Norris will run No. 4 for McLaren, while George Russell is confirmed as 63 for Williams. Russell’s teammate Robert Kubica will race under No. 88, while Antonio Giovinazzi has selected 99.

Of the confirmed numbers, only Russell is using a new number in F1, with Max Chilton having previously selected 4, Rio Haryanto 88 and Adrian Sutil 99. Chilton and Sutil left F1 at the end of 2014, while Haryanto last raced in 2016, meaning all three numbers were available for 2019. A permanent number can be reallocated as long as it hasn’t been used in a race for two consecutive seasons.

Source: Racer  Image: LAT Story: Chris Medland