Formula One – Chinese Grand Prix Preview

The Chinese Grand Prix at Shanghai International Circuit is round 3 on the 2015 Formula One calendar. This will be the 12th running of the Chinese GP. The race made its F1 debut on Sept. 26, 2004, which was won by Rubens Barrichello when he drove for Ferrari.



Lewis Hamilton has the most victories in the Chinese GP with three. Hamilton won this race in 2008 and ’11 when he drove for McLaren. Hamilton’s third victory in it occurred last year, in his second season with Mercedes.

Fernando Alonso is the only other driver with multiple victories in the Chinese GP. Alonso won this race for the first time in 2005 when he drove for Renault. His second victory in it occurred in 2013 when he was with Ferrari. He is now driving for McLaren.

Jenson Button (2010), Kimi Raikkonen (2007), Nico Rosberg (2012) and Sebastian Vettel (2009) are the other drivers competing in this weekend’s race that have won in China in the past.

Rosberg scored his maiden F1 race and pole wins in the 2012 Chinese GP. The Mercedes driver put on a dominating performance in that race, as he beat McLaren’s Button to the finish line by more than 20 seconds.

The race winner in the Chinese GP has started on the pole position six times. Michael Schumacher took the checkered flag for this race after starting sixth in 2006, which is the furthest back a driver has started and won it.

Round 4 in this year’s F1 world championship is the April 19 Bahrain Grand Prix in Sakhir, Bahrain. Hamilton won last year’s race there.