Historic Tour returns to Zwartkops Raceway on 4 March 2017


The 2017 Historic Tour will return to its place of birth at the Zwartkops Raceway this Saturday (March 4), with a full and varied programme of four-wheeler nostalgia awaiting spectators.Heading up the 18-event programme will be two races for SKF Pre-66 Legend Saloon Cars.
Overall victory favourites should include Jonathan du Toit (Chevrolet Nova), Mark du Toit (Chevelle), Roger Houston (Alfa Romeo Super) and Marc Miller (Alfa Giulia).

The SKF Pre-68 Little Giants races will host a wide variety of sports and saloon cars.

Front runners should include Chad ten Doeschate (GSM Dart), Vic Campher (Tom Campher Volvo P1800), Marco Taylor (Alfa Romeo GT Junior), Stephen Britz (MGB), Brad Woolley (Ford Cortina), Austin Zungu (GSM Dart), Terrence Tracey (Ginetta G15) and Jaco Taylor (Alda Giulia Sprint).

The day’s quickest lap times should be achieved during the races for Pre-74 International Sports Prototypes, with entries like Roman de Beer (Genie Lola T70), Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8), Peter Bailey (Ford GT40), Doug Fear (Backdraft Cobra) and Mark du Toit (Daytona Coupe) taking to the tarmac.

Front runners in the races for Pre-84 Sports and GT Cars should be drivers like George Avvakoumides (Porsche 911 RSR), Peter Jenkins (Porsche 911 RSR), Ray Cornelissen (TVR Vixen), Kola de Klerk (Nissan 300), Wynand van der Merwe (Porsche 911 RSR), and Kobus Britz (Porsche 924).

The Investchem Formula Ford races should see close competition between the likes of Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body FF), Allen Meyer (Van Diemen), Alex Voss (Equiry Zoo FF), Dean Venter (Desco Swift), Jeff Gable (van Diemen) and David Jermy (Jacquet Van Diemen).

The day's quickest lap times should be set during the races for Pre-1974 International Sports Prototypes, led by the Genie Lola T70 of Roman de Beer

The day’s quickest lap times should be set during the races for Pre-1974 International Sports Prototypes, led by the Genie Lola T70 of Roman de Beer

The event’s largest fields will appear in the races for Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-80 Saloon Cars.

Top entries will be those of Colin Ellison (Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint), Paige Lindenberg (Ford Fairlane), Johann Smith (Mazda Carella RS), Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco), Barry Nel (Datsun 1600J), Jan Jacobs (Alfa Romeo GT Junior), Djurk Venter (Ford Escort) and Johan van der Walt (Mercedes-Benz 280E).

The unique Metal Used Parts Alfa versus Mercedes-Benz races should see Franco di Matteo start as victory favourite in his Deltec Batteries Alfa GT.
Behind him, there should be a fight between people like Louis Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT Junior), Koos Louw (Mercedes-Benz W123), Hubi von Moltke (Mercedes-Benz 280CE), Jose Vasques (Mercedes-Benz 280) and Corrie Tolmay (Alfa Berlina).

The day’s only handicap events will be races in the Historic Pursuit Series, with a large and widely varied field in action.
Front runners should be Douw Raimondo (Porsche 944), Johan Swanepoel (Fiat 124 Sport Coupe), Les McLeod (MGB Roadster), Stuart Grant (Mercedes-Bens 190E), Machiel Oberholzer (Mercedes-Benz 190E), Rob Clark (Citroen CX2200), Ray Cornelissen (TVR Vixen) and Michael Thompson (For Capri).

Rounding out events will be two Sabat Lotus Challenge races, with the victory favourites to include Jaffrey Kruger (Lotus 7), Thomas Falkiner (Taylon 7), Curtis van Biljon (Birkin 7), Rob Gearing (Birkin 7), David Jermy (Taylon 7) and Jannie van Niekerk (Birkin 7).

The Zwartkops gates will be open from 7am, with qualifying sessions early in the morning.