Inland Championship to set Zwartkops alight

When it rains it pours…Zwartkops hosts another blockbuster

After just 2 weeks since it hosted the Historic Tour, Zwartkops lays on another bumper programme on October 13, when a full round of the EV Dynamics Inland Championship returns to the Pretoria West venue. In the Motul Modified Production Cars, Keegan Pottas heads the line up in his Honda CRX, in which he should dominate in Class A. Shane Kroon continues to fine tune his newly modified Golf in which he put a turbo earlier this year, so faster lap times that will catapult him into Class A should be not be too long in coming. In Class B Dirk Lawrence, Roan Ehlers, Paul van Niekerk and George Economides should be the drivers to beat. In Class C Giles Darroch , Waldo Swiegers and Wayne Lebotschy will do battle again, while in Class D Franco di Matteo will have his hands fending off Ebrahim Peck, who did so well at Phakisa last time out, Duane Brown and Kenny Darroch. Wayne Ferreira heads Class E.

The Formula Monoposto brigade will also be on hand to tackle two rounds on the day. Formula Libre A  was the domain of Gerard Geldenhuys in his Formula 1600 at Phakisa and should he enter this round he will not likely be challenged. In Formula Libre B Mac Odendaal and John Maurien were neck and neck at Phakisa and should resume hostilities at the Big Z. Clinton Baudoux should be joining them this time. Jannie Geyser pilots his Rhema Formula Vee in Libre C. The Formula M brigade always contributes to the programme with spirited racing, and  Koos Posthumus, Austin Zungu, Hylton Morrow, Cornel Smit and Corrie le Roux will all be up against one another again.

The Midvaal Historics will again thrill and delight with a packed grid. Bjorn Gerbert and Tony Sharp should challenge for outright victory in both Alfa Trofeo and MHCC, with Mario Rossi also in the reckoning in another GTV 6, all in Class A. Behind them Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco),  Jackie Morrison and Meredith Willis both in Ford Escorts will compete for honours in Class D, with Ken Price 9    Datsun GX Coupe) also a potential winner. Reghard van Zyl (Alfetta GTV) Franz Jensen (Datsun 1200 GX) and Manfred Schroder (Ford Escort) were the front runners in Class E at Phakisa should be hard to beat at Zwartkops. Class F will be contested by Johan Coetzer (Datsun 1200 GX) Daryl Mann (Porsche 924), Gary Wade (Alfa GT Junior) and Grant Truter (Ford Escort). Class G honours should be fought over by Johan Roets (Datsun SSS), Johan Swanepoel (Alfa Berlina 1750), with Paddy Venske Anton Havenga and Andries Draper all in Ford Escorts also in the mix.

Travis Jensen

Barely two weeks after staging 3 thrilling heats at the this venue, the LiquiMoly Inex Legends return for what will surely be a repeat performance. Sean Moore and Willie Erasmus shared the spoils at the Historic round, with the former taking a brace, but Jason Loosemore, Justin Robertson, Richard Upton, Gerhard and Charl Roux could just as easily claim silverware on the 13th. The pack is now so closely matched that 5 car trains over the finish line are now a regular feature of the Legends’ racing. Richard van Heerde, Johan van der Venter, and youngsters Jagger Robertson and Dane van Heerde are also capable of stealing the limelight on any given day.

The Bridgestone BMW Car Club will also be on hand to entertain the faithful with two competitive heats.  David M. Coetzee took the overall win at Phakisa in in his M36 Turbo but Ricky Loureiro in the 325is was not far behind. Paulo Loureiro (E36) and Ozzi Biagionni (E46)  head Class B, with Shane Grobler (E36) Antoine Marx (M3) and Neil Reynolds (E36) some of the top names in Class C. Jimmy Tsimenoglou  and Trevor Long are another two Class C regulars who could shine on the day. Class D will buzz , with Alan Hilligen (E36), Nektapios Makris (E46), Morgan Long (E46) and Troy Cochrane (330ti) all fighting for honours.”