Leaders to the Max at WP kart opener

The 2019 Western Province karting championships kicked off at Cape Town’s Killarney Kart Track on Saturday in what turned out to be a day of domination as all the Rotax Max classes witnessed one driver winning all three races on the day.
Jason Coetzee emerged the cream of the DD2 crop among the biggest WP championship gearbox class field to date, as he left Jonathan Thomas to fight it out two second places to one over Dino Stermin. Sebastian Boyd ended up fourth from Jarryd Evans and newcomer Waldo de Wet, while Connor Hughes took DD2 Masters from Ernst Viljoen, Marco Viegas, Andre Steenkamp, Robert Peche, the later-troubled race 1 winner Roy Gruer and Harry Georgiou.
SA Junior champion Charl Visser was unstoppable on his Senior Max debut, leaving Simon Simpson-Heath to fight off Kai van Zijl, Storm Lanfear, Andrew Thomas and Michael Jordan after Reece Oellermann hit trouble. Saturday saw the new Max 175 class for older and heavier drivers make its Cape debut among the Seniors as Gary Lennon, Johan Hamman and Jarred Jordan shared out the race wins to end up in that order overall.
Troy Dolinschek meanwhile took all three under-15 Junior Max wins over class newcomer, graduating SA Mini Max champion Kyle Visser and Storm Lanfear, with Triston Galp next up from Mikhail Fernandez and Tate Bishop, who endured a day to forget. Two Clubmans entries, brothers Jared and Michael Jordan raced alongside the Juniors as Jarred beat first heat winner Michael two races to one to take the overall win.
Ethan Stier made under 13 Mini Max his own with three race wins over Michael Fernandez, while Valentino Hoffman took third in a tie break over Troy Snyman, with Paul Malcolm another single point behind ahead of Mischca Williams and the troubled Jason MacBeath. Lucas Royston took two Mini Rok wins to Joaquin de Oliveira’s one to take the day with Jason MacBeath third from Ethan Stier, Joshua Smit and Ethan Lennon.
Reese Koorzen likewise set his Under-11 Micro Max season off to a splendid start with three straight wins on the way to overall victory over Joshua Smit, who took all the second places on the day. There was a good dice for third, resolved Ethan Deacon’s way by a point over Reza Levy, with Ethan Lennon and Luan Mostert next up.
Rayan Kariem stormed to a trio of impressive under-10 Bambino race wins to take the day from Rhoderick Simpson, who shared out the second places with Luan Mostert, but was beaten to third overall by impressive karting debutant Jordon Wadley, with Rebecca Wadley fifth.
Saturday’s vanquished do not have long to wait to get one back over the victors however, as the second race of the Killarney-based Rotax Max championships will go down in just two weeks on Saturday 2 March. Should be a cracker.

And in Natal


The 2019 KZN Karting season officially kicked off on 17 February at the Idube Raceway.  The first event for the 2019 KZN Regional and Club Championship saw a few new drivers who have moved into the premier DD2 class.  Benjamin Habig delivered three flag to flag wins comfortably, after posting the fastest qualifying time this morning.  It was not an all KZN affair, and amongst the mix was Roman de Beer in a BirelArt down from Gauteng, as well as Jaimie and Brandon Smith.

Habig qualified on pole from Roman de Beer, followed by Rob Whiting and Dominic Lincoln who had his first race after stepping up from Senior Max.   Habig controlled Heat 1 setting the quickest time and crossed the finishing line with a 4 second gap over Whiting, with De Beer 3rd and Lincoln in 4th.  Heat 2 was another fastest lap time for Habig, with Whiting in 2nd and De Beer in 3rd.    The final heat was clinched by Habig who once again posted the fastest time in the No 58 TonyKart ahead of De Beer in 2nd and Whiting in 3rd.    A good outing for Lincoln to finish 4th overall in his first DD2 outing.