Foreign crews enter Mountain Gorilla Rally

Foreign crews will be part of the 2019 Mountain Gorilla Rally, an event that marks the end of the African Rally Championship (ARC) season.

This year’s Mountain Gorilla Rally starts Friday at Amahoro Stadium. The crews are from Burundi, Uganda, Belgium and hosts Rwanda. Among the entries is the 2016 winner, Burundian driver Valery Bukera, and his compatriots Fahad Massoud and Yunus Mohamed and Roshanali Mohamed Abbas.

Holder Giancarlo Davite, who has a new navigator Jan Demeester, instead of Sylvia Vindevogel, will be looking to retain the title in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 10.

The other participants from Rwanda include Jean Claude Gakwaya navigated by Jean Claude Mugabo in the Subaru Impreza N11, and the race’s 2012 champion Elefter Mitraros.

By press time Wednesday, Rwanda Automobile Club (RAC) hoped that more crews would confirm their participation in the three-day race.

Provisional list of crews

Giancarlo Davite/ Jan Demeester – Mitsubishi

Jean Claude Gakwaya/ Jean Claude Mugabo – Subaru N11

Fahad Massoud/Yunus Mohamed – Subaru

Jean Jean Giesen/Kevin Mujiji – Toyota Celica

Christian Remezo/ Olivier Ngabo – Toyota Celica

Din Imitiaz/ Regis Tuyishime – Toyota Avensis

Awan Din/ Awan Din Zia – Toyota Celica

Lionel Kayitankore /Alain Gasarabwe – Subaru Impreza GC8

Amigo Felekeni Mayaka /Regis Karingirwa – Peugeot 205

Abbas Roshanali /Tissarchontos Petros – Mitsubishi Evo9

Zamin Mwananteba /Dias Maceri – Peugeot 106

Adolphe Nshimiyimana /Yves nshizirungu – Toyota Celica

Elefter Mitraros and Paolo Paganin – Subaru Impreza N10

Source: The New Times