Non stop action characterizes another day at the races in the EV Dynamics Inland Championship

Amtec Midvaal hosted yet another round of the EV Dynamics Inland Championship on July 7, which shared the stage with two races for Historic Saloons. A good crowd was again entertained from morning till night, with some technical issues delaying the start of the day’s proceedings and adding pressure to a packed program. With a few crashes further hampering the smooth running of the day’s schedule, officials and everyone else concerned did a sterling job of completing a successful day.

Keegan Pottas

The Motul MPC races were won overall by an unstoppable Keegan Pottas after an untroubled brace of wins in the two starts of the day. Other prospective Class A challengers did not materialise but hopefully they will soon. Ian Ehlers took Class B honours ahead of Paul van Niekerk and Roan Ehlers. Dirk Lawrence finished fourth ahead of Bjorn Gerbert. In Class C Paul Verios beat Waldo Swiegers and Giles Darroch. Franco di Matteo again won in Class D, and in a busy class he was followed home by Ebrahim Peck and Don Mackay, who completed the podium. Kenny Darroch, Shane Kroon and Michael Frade (Pistons Autoshop Mazda) completed the top 6. In Class E Wayne Pereira (Grange Workwear Golf) was the lone finisher. In Motul Clubmans (formerly Super Saloons), which ran with the MPC’s, Marius Jackson beat Karel Stols and Richard Berner all of whom were in Class B. Dawie Fourie took first place in Class followed by Richard Cooley.

The LiquiMoly Inex Legends were again in scintillating form with 3 action packed races. Justin Robertson won race 1 from Richard Upton with Charl Roux third, the trio covered by just 0.345 sec over the line. In race 2, Upton who is the defending champion, turned the tables on Robertson to beat him across the line by just 0.366 sec, with Gerhard Roux taking third place. Charl Roux finished fourth. Race 3 was again a no holds barred affair thanks to an inverted grid. Chris Hoy did a valiant job of leading the pack for the first couple of laps, but then youngster Dane van Heerde and the rest literally mugged him at the bottom of the back straight and took over at the front of the field. Dane, whose father Richard is a stalwart of the Legends, then drove brilliantly to win under enormous pressure from a relentless Richard Upton, with Justin Robertson finishing third, and Hoy an excellent fourth, his best result this year. Three races and as many different winners on the score card.

Ian Ehlers

The Alfa Trofeo/Midvaal Historics warriors were again a pleasure to watch.  Bjorn Gerbert took his FAS Alfa GTV 6 to a brace of wins and duly won overall in Class A+. Mario Rossi came out tops in Class A, with Jose de Carvalho the winner in Class B. In the Midvaal Historics, Ken Price (Datsun) took top spot in Class MHD, ahead of Travis Jensen (Datsun 120Y). MHE belonged to Jackie Morrison (RaySpeed Escourt), with Gavin Lundin(Datsun) and Stefan Snyders (Porsche) completing the podium. In MHF Franz Jensen (Dtasun) came up trumps, with Johan Coetzer Jnr. taking second place ahed of Coetzer Snr. (Roadworx Const. Datsun) MHG was won by Eugene Gows (Fiat) with Glenn Buttle Alfa GTV6) the runner up.

Austin Zungu was the main man in the Formula M events taking Class FMA overall ahead of Gary Eveleigh. Gerard Geldenhuys was the winner in FMB, finishing ahead of Koos Posthumus and Hylton Morrow. In Formula Libre, Mac Odendaal pipped John Maurien and Colin Ellison to the post in Libre B.  Paul Manegold was the winner in Libre C ahead of Janie Geyser. Micahel Kernick was the sole runner in Libre D, while Tony Beecher beat Blane de Meillon in Libre E.

Silvercup finally took to the track this year and that man again, Keegan Pottas, showed the rest a clean pair of heels. He led home Evert Seyfert and Dirk Lawrence in race 1, and Lawrence and Piet Nortjie in race 2. Overall Pottas clinched first place ahead of Lawrence and Nortjie, with JP Bohlmann and Waldo Swiegers next up. Stefan Snyders completed the top 6.
Colin Ellison took the first Historic Saloon race in his brutish Ford Fairlane, chased to the flag by Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco), Johann Smith (Nancefield Auto Mazda Capella), Frank Davis (Rayspeed Ford Escort Mk1) and Travis Jensen (Jensen Towing Datsun 120Y). Ellison pitted the Fairlane with mechanical bothers the next time around. That left Van Rooyen to win, narrowly ahead of Davis and Smith, with Mario Rossi (FAS Alfa GTV6) and Allan Green (Ford Escort) rounding out the top five.

Ricard Schuhardt (RS Botswana Porsche) won both the races for Legend Sports, GT and Saloon cars, followed by Stefan Snyders (Spear Management Porsche 911), and Kola de Klerk (Nissan 240Z).

Both the Hankook Formula Vee races  were won by Jaco Schriks (Bean Child Rhema) from Gert van den Berg (BP Nantes Rhema) and Lushen Ramchander (TRA Forza).

Talented youngster Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Lotus) won the opening Leet Lotus Challenge race ahead of Brad Beningfield (General Energy Caterham) and Jeff Gable (Beauty Factory Taylon). Kruger went farming on the first lap of race two, leaving David Jermy (Beauty Factory Taylon) to win from Beningfield and Gable.

Rounding out the programme were two Charlies Superspar Pursuit handicap races. The first went to Richard Tudor-Owen (Avex Tools Mercedes-Benz) from Chris Visagie (( Anglia) and Robert Clark (Containerforce Citroen). Clark won the next one, leading home Rob van Aarle (Ace Auto Ford Capri) and Kola de Klerk in his Nissan.” ends

Story and images: Tony Alves