Northen Regions Cross Country Championship produce three winners in thee events

The Northern Regions Cross Country Championship produced a third overall winner in three events when Kobus and Marinda Fourie won the Vredefort Super Sprint last weekend.
The event was run in conjunction with round two of the national Donaldson Cross Country Motor Racing Championship. There was a huge spectator turnout and they were rewarded with some highly competitive racing throughout the national and regional ranks.

Kobus and Marinda Fourie
Kobus and Marinda Fourie

The Fouries, in a BAT, finished 54 seconds ahead of Francois Smit and Craig Galvin (Hunky Pallets Zarco) to take the Special Vehicle honours, with Hein Moolman and JD Wolfaard third in the 4×4 Mega World Toyota Hilux and the first crew home in the Production Vehicle category. It was a maiden overall win for the Fourie combination.

The Fouries and Smit/Galvin also led home the Class P contingent with Andrew and Zelma Beer from Vanderbijl Park third in another BAT. Two Benoni crews in Derek de Wit/Charles Paterson (Great White) and Vryburg 250 winners Tony and Michael Gouveia rounded out the top five.

Class B saw Midrand based reigning champions Marthinus and Tiaan le Roux (Sandmaster) continue but were made to work hard for their third win in a row. The pair finished comfortably ahead of John Boxhoorn, who is also Midrand based, in the singleseater WPP, with Vereeniging veteran Wolf-Peter Pfumfei (Hunk Pallets WPP/Sandmaster) and West Rand driver John Evans (Hunk Pallets WPP Special) third and fourth.

The Class D battle saw Moolman and Wolfaard come home with more than two minutes to spare over young North West pair Dylan Venter and Ruan Peirce in a second 4×4 Mega World Toyota Hilux. Third were Vryburg 250 winners Pieter Luttig and Victor Fincham (Nissan) who came in ahead of Reagan Austen/Warren Vos (Toyota Hilux) and Vryburg pair Andre and Kosie Geldenhuys in an Isuzu.

Hein Moolman and  JD Wolfaardt
Hein Moolman and JD Wolfaardt

Former national champions Dirk Putter and Koos Claasens (Ford Ranger) extended their early season championship lead over Bedfordview’s David Huddy and Mike Fehrsen in a Nissan. Putter and Claasens finished nearly three minutes ahead of Huddy/Fehrsen with Wayne Smith/Christiaan de Bruin (Toyota Hilux), another Vryburg pair Bertus Kriel/Anton Muller (Ford Ranger) and Theuns du Toit/Arnold Nortje (Toyota Hilux) completing the top five.

The Club Class was again dominated by Gert Steyn and Johan Burger in a Toyota Hilux. It was also their third win in a row this season.

The next event on the Northern Regions calendar is the Northwest 250 on June 11 will be run in the Lichtenburg area with DSP situated at the Lichtenburg Race Track.