Teenager to set World RX age record

Teenager Kevin Hansen is set to become the youngest Supercar driver in the World Rallycross championship when he competes in the Argentine round next week.Hansen will race an OlsbergsMSE-run Ford Fiesta as prize for winning the RX Lites Cup support category this season.
Kevin Hansen
Kevin Hansen

The youngest son of Kenneth Hansen (14-time European Rallycross champion) will be 17 years, 5 months and six days old. The previous youngest driver in World RX was Latvian Reinis Nitiss, who began his Supercar career in Portugal last season, also driving for the OMSE squad, aged 18.

Hansen, who is a former British Rallycross Junior champion, tested a Fiesta Supercar for the first time at Loheac in France this week, where he completed 40 laps in a car similar to that he will race in Argentina.

“To drive a Supercar in a World RX event is something all my competitors dream about,” he said. “I didn’t really think much about it before the end of the season, but I’m really happy to get the chance.

“The test was great fun. I really enjoyed it. I’ve driven a few laps in a Supercar before but this was my first real full test day. It gave us a good start, and I have learnt how this car is.

“It’s an explosion when you hit the throttle, and you need to find a good rhythm to get the gear changes and driving perfect. It will be hard and challenging in Argentina, but also great fun. My main target is to get as many laps as I can on a consistent level, and try to find the speed to be in a semi-final fight.”

Hansen impressed OMSE team manager, Jussi Pinomaki with his consistency in difficult conditions at the test in France.

“Kevin did a good job,” said Pinomaki. “When he can manage to be consistent in conditions like we had, he will also be fast in the dry. I think he can do a good job in Argentina in our car.”

Hansen will join regular drivers Andreas Bakkerud, Nitiss and Timur Timerzyanov in the OMSE squad, while he will compete against RX Lites title rival Thomas Bryntesson, who is racing for the Marklund Motorsport team.