“The seaside is about to come alive to the sounds of angry horses. 

The Dezzi Raceway in Port Shepstone will rock to the sound of over 200 engines when no less than 3 regional and national tours descend upon it on August 11. The Historic Tour, the EV Dynamics Inland Championship and the Extreme Series National VW Challenge will use every available square metre of its pits and paddock complex in what promises to be a day of top class racing that should entertain spectators with some of the best 4 wheel action in the country.
Shane Kroon

In the EV Dynamics Inland Championship, the Motul MPC’s will see a keenly anticipated change. In Class A, Keegan Potts in the fearsomely fast EV Dynamics Honda CRX will find a new challenger, namely Shane Kroon who fitted a 2 litre turbo VW engine on his EV Dynamics Golf Mk1 and seems to have sorted out the technical problems which cut short his debut at Midvaal in July.  In Class B Paul Saayman and Paul van Niekerk (EV Dynamics Golf Mk1) will take on their old foes Dirk Lawrence JDM Tuning’s Honda Ballade and Bjorn Gerbert  in the FAS Pty Ltd Alfa Romeo GTV 6. George Economides will also bring his BMW328i to the party.  Class C fields a huge entry in which Paul Verios (Golf 5 Gti) will take on Giles Darroch, Waldo Swiegers both in Golf Mk1’s, and Johan van der Vyfer (Subaru WRX) A cat amongst the pigeons here could be Engen Volkswagen Cup regular Clinton Bezuidenhout who hails from Durban and will be keen to fly the flag for the coastal dwellers in his VW Golf Mk1. Jordan McGregor, Morgan and Trevor Long and Tony Sharp are other names in a packed Class C grid.  Class D sees the evergreen and overall championship leader Franco di Matteo (Deltec Ford Laser) go up against Kenny Darroch( EV Dynamics Golf Mk1) and Michael Frade (Mazda Hatch), with Ebrahim Peck (Geardown Gearbox Repairs)now in a Golf Mk1 and Duane Brown (Brown’s Autobody) in the Ford Fiesta the other stalwarts who could take victory. Wayne Pereira in a VW Golf Mk1 lines up in Class E.

The LiquiMoly Inex Legends visit the Dezzi Raceway for a second time this year, after racing at the venue in May. A full contingent will see Justin Robertson cross swords with current champion Richard Upton, and siblings Gerhard and Charl Roux. Local warriors Richard van Heerde and Ian Upton will fly the Kwazulu Natal flag, and other names in a very competitive field are Johann van der Venter, Chris Hoy, Steven Levine and Sean Moore. The two youngsters in the mix, Dane van Heerde, who took a maiden win last time out at Midvaal, and Jagger Robertson, will not be overawed by their elders and could well surprise. Jason Loosemore will be absent owing to a commitment at the Rock Raceway in Brakpan where he will be racing in the National Hotrod Championship. The day’s three starts for the LiquiMoly Inex Legends should give fans plenty of thrills.

Charl Roux

The Formula Ford Kent Regional will also form part of the day’s programme on 11 August, and Andrew Horne heads the log from David Jermy and Dean Venter. Jonathan Nash, Alex Vos and Jeff Gable round out the top 6.

In the Lotus Challenge Championship Jeffrey Kruger is the man to beat in the overall classification and in Class B, with Rob Gearing, Thomas Falkiner, Jeff Gable and David Jermy willing and able to try and do it. Giving them chase will be Byron and John Oliver, Johan Viviers and Richard or Brad Beningfield. In Class L, Mackie Adlem leads and is second overall in the championship, just 34 points behind Kruger but he should have Andre Human, Rudi Barnard and Roland Hopkins breathing down his neck. The tight and twisty Dezzi Raceway is perfect for these nimble machines and the action should be plentiful.

The Extreme Series National category event of the day will be the Motormart VW Challenge and it will have KZN enthusiasts stirring with delight. Over 30 entries are expected and on Dezzi’s demanding twists and turns this too will be a thrill a minute. Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo) leads Class A, with Stiaan Kriel (PoziDrive/Kalex Polo), Waldie Meintjies (Dimension Signs Polo), Lyle Ramsay(Monroe Racing/Fuchs Polo)) and Nic Clarke (AVO Performance Suspension Polo) within touching distance. Wayne and Bevan Masters (Performaqnce Masters Polo), Johan Crous and Keegan Masters might also have a say how things turn out in the day’s 2 heats. In Class B Jacques Smith (BPM Engineering Polo) leads Chris Dale (Blue Belt/Pozi Drive Polo), with Deon Holiday Jr (Monitor Net Polo). Roberto Joaquim and Deon Holiday Sr. (Nathan’s Motorport Polo) ready to pounce and capitalise on any mishaps for the leaders. Mohamed Dangor, John Johnstone, Jason Finney and Stuart Mack are next in the title chase.

The autObarn Superhatch series will again pit Jonathan du Toit in the Honda (TransAfrica Racing Honda Civic) against Brett Garland (autObarn/Total Honda Civic) in Class A, with Wener Pieterse and Andre Danhauser also potential winners on the day. In Class B Louis Scholz will go up against Almero van Eck and Zane Pieterse. Reno van Heerden and Tony Hyams should top Class C.

The Historics will feature a varied line up, with Colin Ellison at the wheel of his Ford Fairlane, which should be a handful at Des Gutzeit’s venue. Others who will relish the challenge will be Daniel Lotter (Ford Escort Mk1) Cindy Evans Finney ( Renault R8), Marco Verwey (Datsun 1200 Gx Coupe) Johan Swanepoel (Alfa Romeo) and Neil Lobb (Fiat 131) to name but a few.”

Story and images: Tony Alves