WRC Rally WalesGB: Ogier seals win ahead of charging Tanak

 Sebastien Ogier secured his fourth consecutive Wales Rally GB win despite a late charge from Ott Tanak, who matched his career-best WRC result in second.Similarly to the morning leg, DMACK Ford driver Tanak leg the way in the final three stages of the rally, and closed the gap to 10.2s to Ogier’s Volkwagen.

Sebastien Ogier
Sebastien Ogier

Having also topped the Power Stage ahead of Andreas Mikkelsen and Thierry Neuville, Tanak is 10 points behind top Ford driver Mads Ostberg in the standings.

Hyundai driver Neuville completed the event in third to move ahead of Volkswagen man Mikkelsen for second in the standings, with the Belgian’s teammate Hayden Paddon finishing fourth.

Kris Meeke (Citroen) made it home in fifth ahead of Dani Sordo (Hyundai) and Jari-Matti Latvala (Volkswagen).

The M-Sport Fords of Ostberg and Eric Camilli finished eighth and 10th respectively, sandwiching the second Citroen of Stephane Lefebvre.

With one round to go, Volkswagen secured it’s fourth straight Manufacturers’ Title.



Pos. Driver Points
1 Sébastien Ogier 247 pt
2 Thierry Neuville 143 pt
3  Andreas Mikkelsen 129 pt
4  Hayden Paddon 126 pt
5 Daniel Sordo 119 pt
6  Jari-Matti Latvala 110 pt
7 Mads Ostberg 92 pt
8 Ott Tanak 82 pt
9  Kris Meeke 64 pt
10  Craig Breen 36 pt