WTCC: 23 cars announced for Macau season finale

The highly-popular Macau Guia Race will host the final round of the FIA World Touring Car Championship this year. The entry list for the event has been announced, and features a season-best of 23 cars for the championshipMacau.

After his absence from the Race of Japan, Ma Quing Hua will be back at the wheel of the fourth Citroën C-Elysée. The Chinese driver will be the only addition to the TC1 field, whereas the TC2T class will see a more significant increase in numbers.

With both Liqui Moly Team Engstler and Campos Racing both fielding three cars for the season finale, there will be an extra BMW and another SEAT at the iconic Guia track.

Mak Ka Lok joins Team Engstler for the event. The local driver has taken part in several WTCC events in Asia in the past and will be back for the 2014 edition of the Guia Race.

Macau will also see Pepe Oriola’s comeback to the series, after the Spaniard’s last showing in the championship last year. This will be a one-off appearance as the driver is likely to take part in the new TC3 International Series next season.

Asian drivers William Lok and Asia Trophy Champion Felipe De Souza will bring the total up to 23 cars. Although this is a season-record for the WTCC, before the major regulation changes the championship has undergone the Macau Guia Race consistently hosted more than 30 cars on the grid.