Zwartkops to host Historic Car Racing Extravaganza on 8 October 2016

Top billing will belong to races for SKF Champion of Champions and Pre-66 Legend Production Cars.Fighting for victories and providing brilliant spectacle should be drivers like Hennie Groenewald (Ford Comet), Mark du Toit (Chev Camaro), Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang), Jonathan du Toit (Chev Nova) and Thomas Falkiner (Studebaker Golden Hawk).

Roger Houston
Roger Houston

The Under Two-Litre class will boast contestants like Roger Houston (CTR Alfa Romeo Giulia), Carel Pienaar (Lotus Cortina), John Simpson (TAR Alfa GT Junior), Francesco Lombardi (Alfa Giulia Sprint GT) and Shane Baartman (Alfa GT Junior).


Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder) should be a front-runner in the races for Pre-66 Sports Cars

Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder) should be a front-runner in the races for Pre-66 Sports Cars

The Trans Africa Racing Pre-74 and Pre-66 Sports Car races will feature entrants like Roman de Beer (Genie Lola T70), Peter Bailey (Porsche 917), Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8), Peter Jenkins (Chevron B19), Alan Garrow (Cobra 289 FIA), Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder), Dennis McBeath (Mpiti), Frank Hoal (Chevron B26) and Olivier Dalias (Ford GT40).

Vic Campher (Tom Campher Volvo P1800), Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type), Jaco Taylor (Alfa Romeo), Chad ten Doeschate (GSM Dart) and Mike O’Sullivan (BMW 2002) should be front runners in the races for SKF Pre-66 Little Giants.

Others to watch should include Ishmael Baloyi (GSM Dart), Robin Clarke (MG Magnette), Mel Spurr (Ford Consul), Chris Visagie (Ford Anglia) and Brad Woolley (Ford Cortina).

Single seater enthusiasts will not be left out in the cold.

The meeting will feature the inaugural race for Pre-86 Formula Atlantic cars, led by the Ralt RT4 of Colin Ellison.

He should be challenged by people like Peter Kernick (Maurer), Neil Lobb (Chevron B34), AJ Kernick (Reynard), Dino Scribante (March 78B) and John Mc Kercher (Modus).

The Investchem Formula Ford Kent races should see Andrew Horne (Xena Royale), Andrew schofield (Investchem Reynard), Matthys Strydom (Talon), Sean Hepburn (Ray 90) and Jeff Gable (Van Diemen) fight for the front positions.

Alan Garrow (Cobra 289 FIA) should be a strong runner in the events for Pre-74 Sports and GT cars

Alan Garrow (Cobra 289 FIA) should be a strong runner in the events for Pre-74 Sports and GT cars

Top contenders in the races for Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-79 Saloon Cars must include Anton Raaths (Mazda R100), Peter Lindenberg (Ford Fairlane), Jan Jacobs (Alfa GT Junior), Colin Ellison (Alfa Romeo GT), Neil Lobb (Fiat 131), Phillip Pantazis (Datsun 260Z) and Harry Lombard (VW Beetle).

Running with the tin-tops due to a lack of entries in their own category will be Pre-84 Sports Cars, led by Dino Scribante (Tiga Honda Turbo), Philip Vermeulen (Birkin) and George Avvakoumides (Porsche 911 RSR).

Jeffrey Kruger (Lotus 7) should be the man to beat in the Sabat Lotus Challenge races, with his closest adversaries people like Rob gearing (Birkin 7), Thomas Falkiner (Taylon 7), Jeff Gable (Birkin 7), Grant Findlay (Lotus 7), Sean Hewitt (Nirkin S3) and Neil de Later (Birkin 7).

The Historic Handicap races should be wide open affairs, with possible winners to include Rob van Aarle (Ford Escort), Machiel Oberholzer (Mercedes-Benz 190), Johan Swanepoel (Alfa Berlina), Kola de Klerk (Nissan 300ZX), Wynand van der Merwe (Porsche 911) and Ralph Cramer (Mercedes-Benz 280).

The Classic Superbike races will see riders like Noel Haarhoff (Suzuki GSXR), Lee Dutton Suzuki GSXR), Gavin Ramsay (Suzuki GSXR) and Fregal McAdam (Moto Guzzi Le Mans) at the front end.

The day’s activities will end with a 60-minute Endurance race for sports and saloon cars.

Top contenders should include Dino Scribante (Tiga Honda Turbo), Thomas Falkiner (Taylon 7), Peter Jenkins (Chevron B19), Sean Hewitt (Birkin S3), Colin Ellison (Alfa Romeo GTA) and Alex Gillespie (Chevron B19).

Admission will cost R80 per adult and R60 per student, with kids under the age of 12 going in for free.

The gates will open at 6.30am, with the first race scheduled at 9.30am.

As always, everybody is invited to visit the pits on foot at any time, with food and drink on sale, or you may take your own.