SS8 win for Latvala creates VW 1-2-3 overall in Poland

The 14.75km repeat of the Goldap stage is the final test out in the countryside for today, the only tonight’s Super Special remains after this one. It’s a re-run of the roads used in SS3, in which Ott Tanak took the stage win.
Robert Kubica
Robert Kubica

Jari-Matti Latvala was victor in this run through, beating Mads Ostberg by eight tenths of a second and moving him up to third overall, overtaking Ott Tanak to make it a Volkswagen 1-2-3. ‘My tyres are not in great shape anymore, but even with no tread it’s surprising how good they are. I really enjoyed this stage.’ Jari-Matti commented.

Ostberg came through second quickest, showing good pace, but a jump start has been reported – he’ll be penalised for that. Sebastien Ogier was third quickest, with his rally lead now 1.9 seconds over Andreas Mikkelsen, with Latvala third and 8.1 seconds behind Ogier – it remains close at the top.

Tanak has dropped out of the top three overall, with his tyres worn down to the canvas thanks to brake problems that he’s been having all day. He now has just front brakes, but promises that he’ll be pushing hard to catch up tomorrow.

Andreas Mikkelsen was fourth quickest through the stage with a time just one tenth down from Ogier’s time – he’s pleased with his performance. ‘A good day, one small mistake from my side but on this rally I would say all options are still open.’ he said.

Robert Kubica and Hayden Paddon round out the top six through the stage, both completing the stage in the same time, 4.9 seconds down on Latvala.

The only stage left for today is the 2.5km Super Special in the Mikolajki Arena, following which the crews will head to the one and only service stop of the day. Though this rally has been kinder to the cars than some of the previous rounds this season, it will be much needed by many. SS9 begins at 19:05 local time.

Top fifteen after SS8:
1.1FRAS. OGIERFRAJ. INGRASSIAVolkswagen MotorsportMRC11:15:54.3
2.9NORA. MIKKELSENNORO. FLOENEVolkswagen Motorsport IITRC11:15:56.2+1.9+1.9
3.2FINJ. LATVALAFINM. ANTTILAVolkswagen MotorsportMRC11:16:02.4+6.2+8.1
4.6ESTO. TANAKESTR. MOLDERM-Sport World Rally TeamMRC11:16:07.6+5.2+13.3
5.20NZLH. PADDONNZLJ. KENNARDHyundai Motorsport NTRC11:16:29.7+22.1+35.4
6.14POLR. KUBICAPOLM. SZCZEPANIAKRobert KubicaRC11:16:33.2+3.5+38.9
7.7BELT. NEUVILLEBELN. GILSOULHyundai MotorsportMRC11:16:34.9+1.7+40.6
8.3GBRK. MEEKEIRLP. NAGLECitroën Total Abu Dhabi WRTMRC11:16:59.8+24.9+1:05.5
9.8ESPD. SORDOESPM. MARTIHyundai MotorsportMRC11:17:08.9+9.1+1:14.6
10.4NORM. OSTBERGSWEJ. ANDERSSONCitroën Total Abu Dhabi WRTMRC11:17:09.4+0.5+1:15.1
11.5GBRE. EVANSGBRD. BARRITTM-Sport World Rally TeamMRC11:17:32.8+23.4+1:38.5
12.21CZEM. PROKOPCZEJ. TOMANEKJipocar Czech National TeamTRC11:18:26.1+53.3+2:31.8
13.10NLDK. ABBRINGGBRS. MARSHALLHyundai Motorsport NRC11:18:30.9+4.8+2:36.6
14.40SWEP. TIDEMANDSWEE. AXELSSONSkoda MotorsportWRC2RC21:19:08.1+37.2+3:13.8
15.37ITAL. BERTELLIITAL. GRANAIFWRT SRLTRC11:19:59.2+51.1+4:04.9